Joys Of Being On The Ocean

Our first full day sailing was full of sea life! While we were sitting at lunch, a voice came over the speakers and announced that a water spout was outside. If you’re like me, and have no idea what that is, this is what it looked like:

It looked like a tornado! But we were in no danger at all.

Then, about 20 minutes later, there was another announcement. I couldn’t hear it because I was in my room, but I ran up the stairs to look out the window & I saw dolphins! Then someone shouted across the dining hall, “They’re on this side!”. And everyone ran over to where I was standing…apparently the announcement said “Starboard” instead of “Port”. He corrected himself about 2 minutes later…but by then, most people missed the dolphins.

It’s hard to see them…but you can see their fins.

And about 3 minutes after that, we saw whales!!! Well…not really the actual whale. We saw their spray. But that was good enough for me : ) I’ve been told that we will definitely see whales later on in the trip!

(Thanks for the pictures D)
After dinner, we went to Christmas Story Telling Night. In short, there were about 8 different stations around the ship where crew had signed up to read stories, put on a play, or make a craft. And the rest of the crew who didn’t sign up to have a station got to move around from station to station. It was a great way to get us all excited for Christmas!
After all of this excitement, the sun went away and the rain came down. Christina (my fellow cheerleading buddy) and I went up to deck 8 and played in the rain. While we were soaked, we hung out by the bridge and talked for about 30 minutes. Both the rain and the conversation were refreshing.

2 thoughts on “Joys Of Being On The Ocean

  1. Thanks “Tante Ea”! So far the sail has been really great with no sea sickness included. The boat seems to get rockier day by day, but at least it's little by little so we are all getting used to it instead of getting sick. Thanks again for your prayers,

    Chels

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.