Getting To Know The Prisoners

My second visit to the prison was much different than the first, but just as good if not better. Instead of holding a typical prison service with singing then a lesson, we simply walked around and got to know the women on a personal level. My friend Kendall and I walked into a room and ended up having a thirty minute conversation with two prisoners.

It’s a good thing that Kendall speaks french fairly well, because if she hadn’t then we never would have been able to have such a great conversation with these two women. The first woman was falsely accused and is hopefully getting out next Friday. She owns a boutique and Kendall and I are planning to go and visit her in a couple weeks when she gets out. She was so sweet and we ended up talking all about her her family, lifestyle, and why she was placed in jail. The really exciting thing for me was the fact that I could actually understand a lot of the conversation! I’m taking french lessons on Rosetta Stone, and it’s cool to see it paying off.

The second lady actually spoke English! She had been in jail for three years, and claimed to be innocent…which may very well be true. Unlike America, in Benin you are guilty until proven Innocent, and only about 75% of inmates get trials. So basically, if you really really don’t like someone, then you can easily send them to jail. Also, after being in jail for 3 years, she has to pay 5 million CFA ($10,000) to get out. It’s a little bit ridiculous! Through talking, we made the connection that her daughter was the little girl that sat on my lap the last time I visited. Just a fun fact.

After talking to these two ladies & getting to know them, Kendall and I walked around a bit more. Right after I sat down on the ground, a lady grabbed my hand and had me follow her into another room. Through hand motions and sounds, I found out that she wanted me to pray for her baby. So, I prayed for her baby (in English). Although she couldn’t understand me, the prayer was filled with amens and head nods. Soon after the prayer, my friends Kendall, Michelle, Bonny Jean, Kaylee & Mel (my new roommate from the U.K.) joined me in the room. The African ladies told me that I looked like an actress…we think they were talking about Julia Roberts? And we were all rolling on the floor laughing because we couldn’t understand each other but managed to make conversation through sound effects. Our day at the prison ended with us all singing and dancing! This is a HUGE deal because before we entered the prison, a lady told us that everyone was miserable and depressed…so the fact that we left seeing a smile on the majority of the ladies faces was obvious joy from God. Exactly what I had prayed for : )

One thought on “Getting To Know The Prisoners

  1. Oh, Chelsea! Your stories encourage me so much in my own faith. I am so proud of your servant heart and your desire to be used by the Lord. So proud of you! I am so glad for the friends that you have made and for the memories you are making, also. I cannot wait to keep reading more of your blog!! Miss you!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.